## **CAULFIELD GRAMMARIANS AND THE VFL/AFL**

There is a long history of Caulfield Grammarians in the VFL/AFL with over 50 Grammarians having played at the elite level.

## Interesting facts include:

- In 2015 three CGS players made their AFL debut being Luke Lowden, Daniel McKenzie and Lukas Webb. For Dan and Lukas it took only one year to make their debuts but Luke's 6 year wait to play at the highest levels is one of football's great stories or persistence. Similarly Callum Sinclair endured a horrendous run of injuries before establishing himself in the West Coast Eagles team culminating in the 2015 AFL Grand Final.
- The player who has played most games is Chris Judd (279) and most goals is also Chris Judd (228) followed by Ron Evans (209) the former Essendon and AFL President. Ron headed the VFL goalkicking list in 1959 and 1960.
- Frank Langley was best on ground in Melbourne's 1900 Premiership. Other premiership players include Les White (Essendon 1912), Dean Anderson (Hawthorn 1989 & 1991) and Chris Judd (Eagles 2006). Taylor Duryea is CGS's latest dual premiership player (Hawthorn 2014 and 2015). Will Taylor and the Hawks achieve the "three-peat" in 2016?
- Brownlow Medallists have been John Schultz in 1960 and Chris Judd in 2004 and 2010.
- Schultz played 24 games for Victoria (and was an All Australian in 1961). Other players to represent Victoria were Jim Taylor, Lance Wilkinson, Stephen Newport, Dean Anderson, Ron Evans and Duncan Kellaway.
- The first Caulfield Grammarian to play VFL football was Stanley Reid (1896-1897) who played two seasons with Fitzroy before serving in the Boer war where he was killed.

The full list of Caulfield Grammarians who have played AFL/VFL is:

PLAYER	YEARS PLAYED	CLUB	GAMES	GOALS
Charlie Abbott	1961-1963	Hawthorn	17	4
Dean Anderson	1988-1997	Hawthorn/St Kilda	150	100
David Astbury	2010-present	Richmond	41	8
Rupert Betheras	1998-2002	Collingwood	52	15
Tomas Bugg	2012 - present	GWS/Melbourne	65	16
Peter Burns	1959-1960	St Kilda	4	2
Ron Cabble	1957-1962	Hawthorn	14	35
George Cassidy	1929-1931	Melbourne	13	5
Geoff Cayzer	1967-1971	St Kilda	4	5
Mark Chaffey	1997-2006	Richmond	166	34
Claude Crowl	1911	St Kilda	3	6
Irving Davidson	1951-1954	St Kilda	26	1
Alex Denney	1947-1948	Collingwood	35	2
Greg Dean	1949-1950	St Kilda	7	1
Jack Dowding	1903-1905	St Kilda	41	30

John Dowling	1963-1967	St Kilda	37	6
Taylor Duryea	2013-present	Hawthorn	63	12
Ron Evans	1958-1962	Essendon	64	209
Robert Eddy	2007-2011	St Kilda	33	10
Geoff Frood	1930	Melbourne	1	2
Richard Gibbs	1812-1814	University	35	3
Brendan Goddard	2003- present	St Kilda/Essendon	269	149
Geoff Grover	1664	St Kilda	2	0
Luke Hammond	2001-2004	Brisbane	1	0
Jack Harrison	1936-1947	North Melbourne	95	23
Herbert Hunter	1900	Essendon	3	0
Nick Jewell	1996	Richmond	1	1
Murray Johnstone	1945	St Kilda	3	2
Chris Judd	2002-2015	WC Eagles/Carlton	279	228
Andrew Kellaway	1997-2006	Richmond	138	29
Duncan Kellaway	1992-2004	Richmond	180	12
Joshua Kitchen	1994-1996	St Kilda	3	1
Frank Langley	1900-1906	Melbourne	91	61
Tom Leather	1932-1933	North Melbourne	16	11
Luke Lowden	2009 – present	Hawthorn/Adelaide	1	3
Michael Luxford	2015 – present	Geelong	2	0
Stuart Maxfield	1990-2005	Sydney/Richmond	226	129
Daniel McKenzie	2015 – present	St Kilda	7	0
Barrie Mau	1960	St Kilda	2	0
Brian Milnes	1952-1955	St Kilda	23	3
John McLaren	1955	St Kilda	4	0
Andrew McQualter	2005-2011	St Kilda	84	37
Stephen Newport	1985-1993	Melbourne/St Kilda	140	66
Ezra Poyas	2000-2004	Richmond/Melbourne	6	1
Stanley Reid	1897-1898	Fitzroy	24	0
John Robinson	1912	University	1	0
John Rombotis	1995-2000	Fitzroy/Port Adel//Richmond	48	23
Damien Ryan	1996-2001	Richmond/St Kilda	60	9
Chris Stone	1978-1981	St Kilda	23	12
John Schultz	1958-1968	Footscray	188	39
Robert Schultz	1963	Footscray	2	0
Dylan Shiel	2012 - present	Greater Western Sydney	64	33
Paul Seedsman	2012 - present	Collingwood/Adelaide	49	7
Callum Sinclair	2013 – present	WC Eagles/Sydney	29	18
Jim Taylor	1949-1961	South Melbourne	156	35
Murray Thompson	1973, 1976	Richmond	14	3
Andrew Walker	2004-present	Carlton	191	130
Geoff Ward	1968-1971	St Kilda	31	18
Lukas Webb	2015 – present	Western Bulldogs	10	1
James White	1999-2000	Richmond	4	1

Les White	1910-1916, 1920-1924	Essendon/St Kilda	78	1
Dick Wicks	1949-1951	St Kilda	15	5
Lance Wilkinson	1949-1956	Hawthorn	116	19
Jack Ziebell	2009-present	North Melbourne	124	72